July 30, 2009. Pattaya to Bangkok.

After our three days in Pattaya, we went to Bangkok on the morning of July 30. I got up early and walked to the beach for coffee, then returned to the hotel for a shower and packed my suitcase. We had the great breakfast at the Sunshine Hotel, checked out, and went to the bus station in the back of a pickup truck.

I had found out there was a real bus station in Pattaya, not just a stop on the side of the road. And I had found that several buses left for Bangkok every hour, each going to a different station in the city. We needed to go to the Southern Station, and bought our tickets on that run. In just a few minutes we boarded. The trip took a little more than two hours. I believe the tickets were 113 baht each (about $3.40 USD).

When we arrived in Bangkok we took a meter taxi to Khaosan Road where our hotel, the Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, was located. I noticed the driver passed Khaosan Road and said something to him. He replied, but I have no idea what he said. Anyway, he started circling around to the

other side of Khaosan where there was a hotel with the word Sawasdee in it’s name. It was a couple of blocks from Khaosan Road and our hotel, but we got out and walked to the correct place. I think his error was an honest mistake. Fortunately we all travel very light.

We checked in. They remembered me and gave us good rooms on the second floor. The rooms were a little small, especially for two people, but they were clean. Second floor rooms (actually 3rd floor the way floors are counted in the USA), were at a premium because there were fewer steps to climb. I appreciated that.

We threw out suitcases in our rooms and hit the street for lunch. We went to La Casa, the Italian place I had been before where they had paper thin crust pizza. I had a tomato and basil pizza. Sea had spaghetti. I can’t remember what Vivian ate. Everyone was happy with their meals. The name of the cafe was La Casa, the same name as the cafe in Shenzhen where I play chess. No relation, I am sure.

My only goal that day was to find a

couple of t-shits with pockets. The girls wanted to wander around, so we split up and went our separate ways. I looked up and down Khaosan Road and the next two streets over. There were dozens of store and street vendors selling t-shirts, but none with pockets. After a couple of hours I got tired of shopping and returned to the hotel for a nap.

After and hour or so I showered, changed clothes and hit the street. I walked a few blocks to the Victory Monument for a few night time pictures. I stopped at a street vendor for a spring roll, at another for some Pad Thai. That was my dinner.

Then I headed back to the backpacker district to see if the band I liked before was playing again. The street was crowded. I couldn’t find the place I was looking for, so I stopped at a cafe for some iced beer and people watching.

After 30 minutes or so I heard music from a nearby cafe. It was the band I had been hoping to find. It turned out I was two doors from their venue. I couldn’t find it because they didn’t

La Casa
La Casa
Two of my favorite cafes have the same name. One in Bangkok, the other in Shenzhen

start playing until 21:00. So I paid my bill and went there to listen to their brand of Asian hard rock. I stayed there a couple of hours, then went to the room around 23:00, stopping on the way for a delicious vinegar marinated sausage on a stick. Made a note to have another tomorrow.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Thailand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 30, 2009. Pattaya to Bangkok.

  1. Can I simply just say what a relief to uncover somebody who truly understands what they are discussing on the internet.

    You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make
    it important. A lot more people really need to look at this and
    understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you’re not more popular since you most certainly have the gift.

Leave a Reply

