July 29, 2009. Another Day in Pattaya.

Much the same as yesterday. I went walking in the morning, the girls went shopping. I sat on the beach and read in the afternoon. I rented a chair and an umbrella on the beach and watched the parasailing. Then met up with the girls for my second German meal, the previously mentioned pig’s knuckle.

After dinner I went out to the seedy side of town. After about an hour of walking and looking I stopped at a cafe and had an iced beer. The waitress wanted to play a dice game with me. I said no, but she insisted. After asking a few questions, I agreed.

I should mention that we had inquired about seeing a strip show at our hotel’s Travel Desk, but the girl had warned us against it. She said they would scam us for money in 100 different ways. For example they would say the admission fee was 150 baht, then present us a bill for 4000 baht. If a beer cost 60 baht and you bought one for your waitress, it would be priced at 300 baht. And so on…

The cafe where I was, was not a strip type place. I

was sitting at a table on the sidewalk outside. It was on a busy street. It was either Soi 9 or the next street over. It wasn’t a dark and scary alley. But after listening to the travel girl I was a little nervous about having any kind of interaction with the waitress. She said it wouldn’t cost anything to play dice with her. It was a simple game called Butterfly. It wasn’t a gambling type game. It was more like a solitaire game that we took turns playing.

After a few minutes she asked me to buy her a beer. She had one in her hand, already opened. I refused. Then she asked to play a game of pool. After the “buy me a beer” scam I was really nervous and asked several questions, mainly to do with money. She assured me it would cost nothing to use the pool table. We played two games, she won both. I decided to leave and she brought me a bill for 60 baht for my beer and 200 baht for her “time.” I was angry, but decided to just pay it and leave. The extra 200 baht was about $6.00

USD, so it wasn’t worth any kind of possible trouble.

I almost forgot – when I paid my bill my change was 200 baht short. But I was able to have the cashier make it right. An honest mistake? I doubt it. Unfortunately I can not remember the name of the cafe, or I would publish it here.

Humiliated and angry, I went back to my hotel. I stopped at the German cafe across the street from the hotel’s front door for a plate of red cabbage and some people watching before calling it an early night.

 


About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Thailand and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 29, 2009. Another Day in Pattaya.

  1. Having read this I believed it was really enlightening.

    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and
    commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

