July 11. Chess and Funny Signs.

Funny Sign
Funny Sign

July 10. Evening.

I got home about 18:30. The thermometer on my balcony said 94. It must have been close to 100 earlier. I ate noodles, did my laps in the park, then came home and practiced chess.

July 11.

It was hot again this morning. I turned on the TV and there was a thunderstorm warning at the top of the screen. Good. I went out and bought veggie pancakes and had them for breakfast with tea. Then I practiced chess until 15:00 when I left to go play.

It was bright and sunny when I left the house, but by the time I got to the bus stop it had gotten cloudy and the wind was blowing. When I got off the bus it was raining. I took shelter in a cafe at CoCo Park. The place we play chess is a couple of blocks from the bus stop and I didn’t carry my umbrella.

The rain didn’t last long. I made it to the cafe by 16:30, ordered a white pizza and played several games. The turnout wasn’t so good today. I think about 7 people. Maybe twice a week is stretching it.

I spoke with Eduardo. It turns out he was once a professional chess player in Brazil. I didn’t know there was such a thing. He quit because there wasn’t enough money in it.
I played 3 games and won all three, but I didn’t play against the two best players, Eduardo and Umberto,

I returned home about 20:00. The oyster restaurant is between my house and the bus stop, so I ate dinner there. They must have been running a special on frogs. They had a giant bin of live frogs out front and several times the cook came out and grabbed a few. I hadn’t noticed frogs before.

I met a guy who “collects” funny signs. Here are some he sent me. I especially like the ATM machine and the Shi Ting brand toilet paper.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 11. Chess and Funny Signs.

  1. Pingback: Trackback

Leave a Reply

