July 3, 2009. New Shoes, New Hair.

New Hair
New Hair

Today I stopped at a shoe store and bought a new pair of “Crocs.” I intended to find out what real Crocs cost so I could get some idea of what I should pay for them, but like many other things, I failed to follow through. So when I saw these in the window marked at 68 yuan (about $10.00 USD), I bought them on impulse.

I had thrown my $2.00 Crocs away twice after I slipped twice, but dug them out of the trash each time. I still like them and even wear them outside when it was very dry with no hint of rain in the air. They are probably the most comfortable shoes I have ever owned. If only I could stay upright when I wear them. I hope my new Crocs will have better traction when wet.

This afternoon Sea, Kelley and Edison went shopping. I stayed home to practice my chess. About 18:30 Edison came by and said the girls were at a nearby restaurant and were waiting for me to join them. We quickly walked the couple of blocks to the restaurant. When I entered I saw Sea and Kelley sitting at a

table. They had exactly the same hair. They had purchased matching wigs and were wearing them. I still haven’t decided if I like the new look.

We had a great dinner of a whole fish, sautéed cabbage, soup, and two different stir fries. As usual, everything was very good. After dinner we headed around the corner for some grilled oysters for desert. I am not sure how much everything cost because Sea paid. Buy the total bill for the evening was under 200 yuan.

YESTERDAY

I walked through the market on my way home. I picked up a few goodies for dinner, some veggie filled pancakes and some bananas. I ran into an acquaintance. She had a fancy shopping bag filled with what looked to be small, very dirty potatoes. She asked me if we had them in the USA, and I said yes, but ours are usually larger. She gave me one and I put it in my bag.

When I got home, I had no idea what to to with the tiny, very dirty potato. It was then I realized it was an egg. I have seen these on TV, and I think they are called 100 Year Old Eggs. I peeled it. It was dark brown/black/purple. It had a very bad odor. It smelled like a rotten egg.

 
I took a bite and guess what? It tasted like a rotten egg. The texture of the white was gelatinous, the yellow was like mud. There was a gas coming off it it that went straight into my eyes causing them to water. The taste was so vile and the texture so unpleasant I had to spit it out. The taste remained in my mouth. I brushed my teeth, but this was only partially effective. I brushed them again.

It’s a little cooler tonight. I am off to the park in my new shoes.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

