June 22, 2009. A Hot, Quiet Day.

There is a typhoon passing between Taiwan and the mainland. It is not supposed to hit land, but I hope it will cool things off a bit. It is cloudy today, but very hot and humid. As I write this I hear thunder, but no rain so far.

I am trying to get ready to play chess tomorrow night. I have played 3 games on the computer and lost each one due to giving away pieces I didn’t have to. Blunders. I must calm down and concentrate.

Some guy named Umberto read my blog about chess in Shenzhen. He got in touch with me, and he and his friend will be attending the meeting tomorrow. Kelly, Edison’s girlfriend, also mentioned wanting to play. I’m not sure about her, however. I’ll email her tonight or tomorrow and see what’s up.

The ShenzhenStuff website hasn’t been working right for the past several days, so I am not 100% sure that the meeting will take place. The only way I can get through to Mirko, the club’s guiding light, is through ShenzhenStuff. The next time I see him I’ll get his regular email address.

I try to write 500 words every day, but some days it is very difficult, this being one of them. I am going to play couple of more games of chess then go to bed early.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

