June 10, 2009. Ho-Hum.

Metal Fabricator Waiting for Raw Material
Metal Fabricator Waiting for Raw Material

It has been very hot and humid the past couple of days. It has rained intermittently, but the raid does not cool things off. If I understand it, the weather is supposed to continue as it is for a few more days. I guess I’ll be spending a lot of time reading in the air conditioned library. I slept with the air conditioner on last night.

I think I am getting used to the heat, at least somewhat. I still sweat when walking across the street, but it doesn’t exhaust and drain me like it did once.

The metal shop in my alley must have gotten a big order yesterday. The guy worked well into the night. His grinding and cutting was very loud. This morning he was up early working away. When I got home this afternoon he was asleep on a chair. I thought he must have completed the job, but no. He was just waiting for new supplies. As soon as the un-fabricated steel was delivered, he was back at it. It is 22:00 and I can hear his tools going now.

As usual, I had things wrong. Last night I was invited to Vivian’s

house for a “party.” It seems the “party” was to put together little boxes of candy for Vivian and Martin’s wedding on June 20 (or June 23 – I am not sure). I thought they were already married, but it turns out they aren’t. We put these little boxes together and put 6 pieces of candy into each one. We made 100+ boxes. There are 100 people invited to the wedding. They still had a giant bag of candy left over, so maybe there will be more candy parties.

If I am invited to the wedding I don’t know what to give them. I suppose money is always appreciated, but I’m not sure how much would be appropriate. I’ll ask have to around.

I found out today that you can’t get raw or steamed oysters in China. I don’t know if this is the law, or just custom. And what I described as Oysters Rockefeller was not. I think O.R. has spinach in it. The oysters I had the other night just had garlic and sweet peppers along with a drop of oil. Then they were grilled, and were served with the liquid inside the shell still boiling.

I ate one too soon. It was too hot. I didn’t enjoy it. I waited about 15 minutes for the others to cool before eating them. O.R., I believe, are baked, not grilled.

I just tried the new Microsoft search engine, Bing. It did not work. It was blocked during the internet shut down. I haven’t tried it since the block ended. This was the first time. I don’t know if it is still blocked, or if it is having a bad day for some reason. Google never was blocked. I don’t get it. Will try again later.

Didn’t do my laps tonight. It was too hot, but I think I’ll go now. It’s still too hot, but I always feel better after doing them.

I took a few pics of the area between my house and the library where they are building a new subway line. Nothing every exciting to see. Nothing interesting, for that matter. The construction is all done behind a wall.

Building
Building
About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

