June 15, 2009. Another Week Begins.

 Preparing Dinner
Preparing Dinner

I went to bed early last night after returning from Hong Kong with my visa renewed. For some reason I was very worried that something would go wrong, some piece of paper work would be out of order, and I wouldn’t be able to re-enter China. I actually stayed awake at nights worrying. Then I forgot to put my computer in my back pack, so if I couldn’t go back to China, I would be incommunicado. Now that everything is OK, I am happy and relieved. I feel like I can take a deep breath and resume my happy, quiet, life. There are no problems on the horizon, no conflicts.

I ran the a/c last night. When I got up it was considerably cooler than it has been. It was a little cloudy all day. The metal shop was open and running. The wife and kids brought him dinner. I ran for my camera, but they were gone by the time I got it turned on.

went back to my usual routine, work, library, walk home, dinner, exercise in the park. I only did 5 laps tonight because my toe hurt a bit. I could have done m

ore, but I have learned that it is better not to push things. It should be back to normal by tomorrow or the next day.

After spending $12.00 on dinner last night I decided to economize and have noodle soup for dinner tonight, but when it came time to eat, it was too hot for soup. I got some veggie filled pancakes and some bananas. My dinner cost less than $1.00 tonight.

Buying those ice trays a Wal-Mart a few weeks ago was the best investment I have made in a long time. A nice cup of ice water is always welcome. I might have to buy a few more. The water in my cooler is so warm that it melts the ice immediately. I keep a bottle of water in the refrigerator. Using cooled water helps a lot.

There is a big counterfeiting scandal on the news tonight. If I understood things correctly, the gang was located in Taiwan. The news showed stacks and stacks of counterfeit 50 and 100 yuan notes. There was apparently a large group involved. There were pictures of 15 or 20 people in jump suits in the news the story.

I think counterfeiting is a fairly big problem in China. Every time I spend a 100 yuan note whoever takes it examines it very closely. The serial numbers of known counterfeits are widely published.

I didn’t take any pics today. Theese are some from a few days ago.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

