June 17, 2009. Hot and Quiet

My $1.00 Dinner
My $1.00 Dinner

It is hot and humid. The sun is out. My buddy the metal fabricator started working at 06:00. This afternoon. When I arrived home he was still at it. A truck drove up and they unloaded a bunch of steel. I guess he will be busy for a while.

I spent almost two hours in the library this afternoon. The air conditioning felt good, plus I missed yesterday so had twice as much to read. I paid special attention to the news about Iran, but there wasn’t much of it.

By the time I left for home, it had become very hot. It might be the hottest day of the year so far. I was wet by the time I got home and immediately hit the ice water and changed into my new, very thin, shorts and shirt.

I ate at the noodle shop tonight. I had a new dish. The noodle shop has its various plates and soups pictured on the wall. I pointed to the one I wanted. It was flat noodles with vegetables. The kid who works there came by and pointed to a different dish. I didn’t know why, but assumed he was recommending

it. I said OK. It was flat noodles with a plate of veggies on the side.

What they brought out was nothing like the dish I originally wanted, or the second choice the kid recommended. It was as close to spaghetti as I have seen in China. I usually put some hot pepper in oil on my noodle dishes, but it’s so hot I did ate it plain tonight.

It had round noodles, not flat as I had ordered. And it had a tomato sauce with peppers and a tiny bit of tough meat cut into tiny pieces. The plate was garnished with green steamed vegetables. It was served with a bowl of warm broth and a cup of warm tea. It cost 8 yuan (a little more than $1.00 USD). It was very good, and a great value. I should eat there every night.

Then I went to the night market and bought some bananas. I decided not to go to the park for one more night. I might be overly cautious, but I didn’t want to take a chance on irritating my broken toe. Also I wanted to go home and follow events in Iran

on Twitter. I have become addicted to following the the news live.

The number of posts on Twitter seemed to be going down. I guess the protests are dying down. A lot of the posts are telling others how to hide their identities or how to get around various blocks. I didn’t see any of that kind of thing while the internet was blocked in China.

Between reading the posts I played a few games of chess. I had promised myself to play more after my first evening of play in town. But I didn’t keep my vow. I only played a few games one evening. Tonight I played a couple of games. Am feel like I am getting back into it.

Decided to sleep with the air conditioner on tonight. Just turned it on. It feels good immediately. I might have to re-think my “get acclimated” strategy.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

