June 3, 2009. Internet Censored.

 June 3rd 2009 by imhere whereru

I woke up to a light rain this morning. I like that. It keeps things cool. Plus I get to use my new mauve umbrella. I thought hard about what clothes to wear to match it. But by the time I was ready to go, the rain had stopped.

For the past two days I have not been able to open Hotmail, Windows Live, and other Microsoft related areas. I don’t know why, of course. Everything else seems to be working. I can get all my news and entertainment sites. I hear stories of the Chinese government doing weird things to the internet from time to time. Could this be them interfering? Or is it a problem with Microsoft, my, local server, my computer, or???

Then, this morning I was able to open Hotmail. I answered 2 emails, then it disappeared again. I see I have something from John that I will try to open after work. Windows Live and the other sites still did not work. The news still came through. I haven’t been able to post my blog from yesterday.

From my balcony I can see a small metal working shop. They guy that runs it must work 16 hours a day when he has work. When he doesn’t have work he sits in the shop waiting for an order. He is there when I get up in the morning and still there when I go to bed. From time to time his wife and small child visit and bring him food. When he has no business he sits in the doorway reading. Sometimes he lays down on a saw horse and reads, but he is always there. I have never spoken to him. His shop is not in the direction I go when leaving the apartment. Today, he was not there. The pull down door of the shop remained closed all day. Coincidence? You decide.

LATER

I just checked today’s news on Breitbart.com. There is a story about China blocking Hotmail and other Microsoft websites because of the 20th anniversary of Tiananmen Square massacre. It also blocked Twitter and other “social networking”” sites. WFT?? I think the massacre took place on June 3-4. How long things will stay blocked I do not know. The story did not say.

The most amazing part of this ban, is that no one I know seems to be very upset about it. Othner than the Breitbart story, I did not see anything about it on the news sites I frequent. And here when I mention it to someone, they shrug.

I suppose this lack of concern could be because everyone is able to get around the blocks in various ways. Even with my almost non-existent computer knowledge, I have discovered I can communicate through FaceBook, which, for an unknown reason, has not been blocked. And there are thousands of other social networking sites that can not even be found, much less blocked.

If I wanted to call for a demonstration, I could do it on Shenzhen Stuff which has 9,000 members in this city alone. To my way of thinking, this “block” shows both the paranoia and the stupidity of the government.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

