June 4, 2009. More Censorship

Dinner
Dinner

It rained all night last night and into the morning. It was a nice, cloudy, cool morning. The internet was still blocked. By the time I got off work the sun was out and it was very warm and humid. The library was still closed, so I wandered around a while then went home for a couple of hours and played on the internet, which was still partially blocked. I took a few random pics of the neighborhood.

I was happy to see the metal shop open today. The guy didn’t have any work, but he sat at his saw horse doing bookkeeping and reading.

I am amazed that no one is upset or angry about the internet blackout. I tried not to get political when discussing it, but on one seemed at all concerned. In fact, I feel a little odd about even bringing up the subject.

I didn’t do much this afternoon. I walked home from the closed library and had an early dinner at a place I’ve eaten several times. I had meatballs, which I’ve had before and liked quite a lot. I ate two and took two home. It cost 28 yuan (about $4.10

USD), the most expensive meal I have had in a while.

It was very hot and humid by this time. I went home and sat in front of the fan a couple of hours before going out for my laps. It was so hot, I didn’t even stop at the night market on my way home.

I glanced at the Discussion Forum on the ShenzhenStuff website. There was a question about Hotmail not working. Several people were having trouble, but no one mentioned that the government might be blocking it. There was a like to a Microsoft website that said they were working on the problem? There were a few replies, then the discussion was closed. No explanation. But the handful of comments were not erased either.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

