May 26, 2009. Nice Day, Got Lost.

Where Is This?
Where Is This?

It was supposed to be sunny today, but when I got up it was drizzling. After coffee and my last Wal-Mart almond cookie, I walked to the bus stop carrying my lovely new mauve umbrella. The drizzle was slight, so I didn’t bother to open the umbrella.

YESTERDAY EVENING

Yesterday evening I looked outside just as dark was falling and saw some dry spots on the road. So I decided to take a chance and go to the park. I carried my beautiful new umbrella in case the rain returned.

I had already taken my evening shower and put on clean clothes, so I just walked slowly around the park perimeter for about an hour and a half. I didn’t want to get sweaty. Then I sat and watched the aerobics for a few minutes. The routines are quite complicated. The dancers must be there every night to be able to learn them.

Finally, I stopped by the night market and bought some peanuts and a watermelon on a stick. The watermelon was scooped out with no rind. I ate it like a sucker. It was a mistake because it was too juicy. I got my freshly

laundered clothes stained with watermelon juice.

I also bought a cucumber. It looked like what we call an English cucumber, but a little longer and maybe a little thinner. I see people walking around eating them all the time, so I decided to try one. Not surprisingly it tasted just like a cucumber. It could have used some seasoning or dressing, or even a little salt. Probably won’t try another one.

Then I returned home for the rest of the evening. Soon the rain returned, and I think it rained all night.

BACK TO TODAY

After work the sky had cleared and the rain stopped. The sun was trying to come out, but it wasn’t bright and hot. The girls were not carrying their umbrellas open. I took yet another new way home from the library. Got lost. Finally a building I recognized came into view. I walked toward it and finally got my bearings. Must have turned a 1 mile walk into 3 miles. I made it home about 5 minutes before the rain began again. Too bad. I was anxious to use my attractive new umbrella.

By 19:30 the rain had stopped and

night had fallen. I went to the park and did my laps. It felt good after 3 days of almost no physical activity. On the way home I stopped at a restaurant I had been to before. I and had meatballs for dinner. They were served with white rice and lightly sautéed celery and steamed greens both in a brown sauce. Everything, especially the veggies, was excellent. I forgot to put my camera in my pocket, so no pics of dinner today.

I picked up a few bananas at the night market, then home.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

