May 29, 2009. Fish and Food

Vivian and Sea
Vivian and Sea

I woke up to a very cool morning. It had rained during the night, but I didn’t hear it. The streets were still wet this morning. The sun was trying to come out. It was another very pleasant day. I did my usual routine today, work, library, walk home, dinner, laps in the park.

I had a great stir fry for dinner. It had red and green peppers, black mushrooms, and small pieces of fatty pork similar to bacon. I guess it was seasoned, but it was very light and with nothing I could identify. It was a simple dish with simple ingredients, well prepared. It did not come with rice, which was OK with me. I try to avoid carbs when I can. The only thing I didn’t like about it was the price, 22 yuan (about $3.25 USD). I have spoiled myself eating 75c noodle dinners. It had great eye appeal, but no pics. I forgot to put my camera in my pocket. I will definitely go back and have the same thing again. Next time I’ll remember my camera.

After dinner I returned home for about an hour before going to the park. About 19:00 I

left the house, walking the three blocks to the park. The weather was so cool I did some extra laps. I’m not even sure how many, I just walked and thought about things for about an hour and a half.

I ran into Vivian and Sea as I was on my way home. Sea had a new hair do, a “permanent wave” she called it. It doesn’t show very well in the pic. I will not comment. I invited them to dinner at the oyster restaurant I mentioned previously. The invitation was for tomorrow night. They accepted. I wonder what will happen tomorrow night?

As I was talking to the girls, Vivian got a call from her husband Martin. He had just returned home from fishing and had caught two big fish. I went with them to Vivian’s and looked at the fish. They appeared to be in the carp family, but who knows? They were fresh water fish. Martin caught them in a pond somewhere. They were going to take the larger one to Nina. Her mother had recently come in from the provinces to stay with Nina through the rest of her pregnancy. After taking a

few pics of the fish, everyone left.

On the way home I stopped at the night market and picked up some cherry tomatoes, peanuts, and lychees. I put the tomatoes in the refrigerator to chill. I’ll eat them tomorrow. I ate they lychees and peanuts as I watched a bad karate movie on TV. The Chinese peanuts look like peanuts from the USA, but were a little smaller. They had been lightly salted and had a very slight garlic taste. I ate them all.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

