May 30, 2009. Oyster Dinner Cancelled.

Main Shenzhen Library
Main Shenzhen Library

Today was another nice day. It was slightly warmer than yesterday, but still very comfortable. The sun was in and out. The humidity was low.

I walked to the main library and checked out a couple of books. They really have a poor selection. Most are very well used paperbacks. I took the bus back home. I walked because I didn’t think I would make it to the park tonight. It is about a 1.5 hour walk. I guess it is about 4.5 – 5 miles.

I read newspapers at a smaller branch that is closer to my home. The branch has no English language books.

I had hoped to got out for oysters with the Zhengs, but as usual, plans changed. It turned out that no one likes oysters but me. Why no one told me that when I brought the subject up, I do not know. We met up at 19:00 and went to the restaurant next door to the oyster place. Sea ordered 5 or 6 dishes which we all shared. It was good, but it was not oysters. Oh well.

I guess I’ll never get oysters unless I meet someone who speaks Chinese,

speaks English, and likes oysters. Apparently it is a rare combination.

I forgot to carry my camera or find out what I need to do to take night pics. So there are none of the restaurant or dinner. Too bad. The food was very attractive.

That was about all for today.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

