May 18, 2009. Hot.Hot.Hot.

Yesterday was the hottest day yet. It was a little cloudy, but still very hot and sticky. I didn’t climb the mountain. I was doing my laps in the park when it started raining. The rain didn’t seem to cool things off. It just made everything more humid.

I gave up on trying to acclimate myself to the heat, at least temporarily. I turned the a/c on last night. I slept on my bamboo “sheet.”

Since I got on Twitter, I decided to go all the way and got on Facebook and MySpace. Like Twitter, I don’t get it. Maybe the value of these services will become more clear as I use them.

I had noodle soup last night. I went to a place where you choose the ingredients you want in it. They bring a bowl of seasoned boiling water with noodles to your table along with a tray of the raw ingredients you choose from the menu. Everything is sliced or chopped in very thin pieces so it cooks immediately when it is put in the hot water. They combine the ingredients at your table. I had 3 kinds of mushrooms, some greens, onions, an egg, and some sort of sausage. It cost 13 yuan (less than $2.00 USD). It was very good, but not as good as the little noodle shop across the street from my building.

Today I was discussing the heat with a colleague. He pointed out that Chinese have a different perception of “being hot” than westerners. A Chinese may be sweating on his forehead, but does not consider himself hot. Whereas a westerner sweating the same amount considers himself hot. It makes a certain amount of sense based on my limited observations. But it seems that this is a learned behavior or response. I should be able to learn not to be uncomfortable at 80 degrees.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

