May 17, 2009. Martin’s Birthday Party.

Last night was Martin’s Surprise birthday party. Yesterday I described my plans to have a birthday cake presented at dinner. I thought everything was in place.

The gang rendezvoused at Martin’s car for the drive to Coco Park. When I arrived Sea was already there. She was holding a cake box. What? Somehow the secret cake had made its way from Starbucks to Sea’s hand. Vivian had to be responsible. All my emphasis on “secret” and “surprise” was lost or misunderstood.

So we made our way to Coco Park and the pizza place. Coco Park is a large shopping mall with upscale stores. It fills an entire city block and has 5 floors. Outside, two of the four sides sides are lined with outdoor cafes.

Vivian ordered for everyone. We had a selection of appetizers and 2 small pizzas. I must admit everything was excellent. Sea gave the cake box to the waitress. I thought she would bring the cake and candles to the table after we finished dinner. But no, we left and went outside for beer and dice. Sea stopped at the front counter on here way out and picked up the cake, still in the box. They had put it in a refrigerator.

We found a table and ordered a “shoe” of beer and some snacks. Again, everything was very tasty. We played the dice game. I bought Cuban cigars for the men. We had a nice time.

About 23:30 we left. Sea continued to carry the cake box. We drove home and everyone said good night. Vivian carried the cake box to her apartment, still unopened.

It is very hot again today. I have no plans. I am thinking about climbing Lotus Mountain this evening, but it will be easy to talk myself out of it because of the heat.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

