May 8, 2009. Back in My Rut.

I am comfortably back in my routine. Work, reading the English language newspapers at the library, walk home, dinner, laps in the park. After the craziness of Thailand it is almost refreshing. But I do miss the excitement and chaos of Thailand a little bit.

I had a soup or stew made from black chicken for dinner tonight. The meat, skin, feet, and everything are black. I’ve seen it on the Travel Channel and I’ve seen it in stores. This was the first time I’ve seen it on a menu. Guess what – it tastes just like regular chicken.

The soup had potatoes and turnips and carrots. The broth was very light. I guess there were spices, but nothing I recognized. Very good.

Tomorrow I am taking the Zhengs out to dinner. This will catch me up on my few social obligations. We are going somewhere to have Peking Duck. They call it crispy duck. The entire time I have been in China, I have not eaten duck.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

