May 9, 2009. Duck.

As usual I got things wrong. I sent an email to Vivian and Sea inviting them and their families to a Peking Duck dinner on me. They accepted. We would rendezvous at Sea’s house at 16:00 and go from there. I told them to select a good place for crispy duck.

I arrived right on time to find Edison and his new girlfriend sitting in the living room while Sea was in the kitchen chopping away at vegetables and singing. I don’t think she even heard me come in. Then Vivian and Martin arrived. With them came Martin’s sister and her new boyfriend. I had never been either of them before, and can not remember their names.

Sea made dinner, dish after dish. We sat around eating in her tiny living room. She brought out some duck. It was cold, so I assume she bought it earlier. And she doesn’t have an oven where she could have cooked it. It was tasty, but not exactly what I had in mind.

After dinner most of us piled into Martin’s car and we went to Window of the World. It is an amusement park I had been to before. I took many pics then and posted them on an earlier blog. It is a park that “duplicates” many of the famous attractions from around the world like the Eiffel Tower, the Parthenon, the pyramid at the Louvre, etc.

When I returned from Bangkok, I commented on liking a certain band I heard there. I liked the band because they played Van Halen, AC/DC, and The Who, music I like. Somehow the “music I like” part of the story got lost in translation. They thought I like any live music. That is how we ended up at Window of the World. We went to listen to a live band. Unfortunately the band played top 40 type dance music, not the stuff I heard in Bangkok. Still it was good, and much better than sitting in a restaurant.

We sat down at a table and ordered a “shoe” of beer. A “shoe” is a large cylindrical container with a tap at the bottom. In the middle is a cylinder filled with ice. I’m not sure how much is in a “shoe” but it wasn’t much because of the ice cylinder. I would be surprised if there was a 6-pack in a “shoe.”

We played a dice game whose rules I won’t go into now, but it was a bluffing game and could be played using hand signals instead of words. Good for me. After every round the looser had to drink a glass of beer from the “shoe.” The glasses were very small, about the size of a medicine cup. At this point there were 7 of us playing. We had been joined by Nina and her husband. The contents of the “shoe” went down very slowly.

Next door to the cafe where we sat was another cafe. This one had a pool table. I challenged Martin to a game. He beat me on the last ball. Then Nina’s husband beat Martin badly, he was very good. Edison wouldn’t play, being a very poor player. I pointed out that being bad didn’t slow him down at karaoke. I think (hope) my comment was lost in translation.

There was a wine and cigar bar close by. I went in and looked at their Cubans. I intended to buy one for each of the men, but they were very expensive and didn’t look fresh, so I passed. The cheapest one was 80 yuan (about $12.00 USD).

After many rounds of dice, several plates of snacks, a few games of pool, and a second “shoe” of beer, we called it an evening.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

