May 19, 2009. Night Market Pictures

Fruit for Sale
Fruit for Sale

Another quiet day. Work, reading at the library, walk home, dinner, and laps in the park. Very hot and humid.

About 19:30 it gets dark. I waited until then to go to the park for my laps. It was slightly cooler after the sun went down, but still quite uncomfortable. After my laps, I stopped at the little night market close to my building. I took a few pics, but the didn’t come out very well. It was too dark for my flash to be effective.

I bought some bananas and some lychees, but didn’t eat them. Last night the water was shut off between 21:30 and this morning. We were warned ahead of time, so it did not cause a problem. I didn’t eat the fruits in case the water was off longer than they said. Fear of the squat toilet. Fortunately the water was back on when I got up this morning.

Earlier I had a bowl of soup at the noodle shop across the street. It had hand-made flat noodles with some veggies and a trace of meat. It cost 5 yuan (less than $1.00 USD), and was much better than the soup I ate

the night before for nearly 3 times the money. Must try to remember to take a pic of the soup the next time I eat there. It has great eye appeal.

They predict rain for Tuesday and Wednesday. I hope they are correct, but so far today, Tuesday, there is no rain.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

