May 20, 2009. Hot and Dry

Bowl of Hand Pulled Noodle Soup
Bowl of Hand Pulled Noodle Soup
It costs less than $1.00 USD

It was supposed to rain today, but the sun was out this morning. I hoped it would rain to cool things off. But it was sunny to slightly cloudy all day. It remained very hot and humid.

Last night Vivian brought me a giant piece of Martin’s birthday cake. I ate part of it last night and finished it up for breakfast this morning. It was good with coffee.

After work I planned to walk to the main library to check out some books. It’s about 1.5 hours each way. I usually take the bus, but decided to walk for exercise. But it was so hot I talked myself out of it. Instead I walked to Wal-Mart where I planned to buy some ice trays. My refrigerator has 1 tiny little tray that makes 10 quarter inch square cubes. Not nearly enough for the coming hot weather.

I bought 2 ice trays with large size cubes. While at Wal-Mart I also bought coffee, toothpaste, deodorant, and almond cookies. I was not out of anything except cookies. I also bought 3 small cartons of milk and dropped them off at Sea’s on my way home. I found out she

has a calcium deficiency that causes cramps in her feet. When she was a child in the provinces she would chew on the plaster walls in her house for the calcium. The Chinese have almost no dairy in their diets. I don’t know where they get calcium. Maybe from certain veggies.

I ate dinner in the noodle shop across the street. I had a flat noodle soup similar to what I had last night. The soup tonight cost 6 yuan. Last night was 5 yuan. Both were under $1.00 USD. The only difference I could see was tonight my soup had a few more veggies.

The flat noodles are made by using a vegetable peeler type device to slice the noodles off a large loaf of dough. The guy ran the peeler across the loaf and the noodles flew off and landed perfectly in a vat of boiling water. He never missed.

My dinner, soup and tea. The soup was attractive when they brought it out. I added some hot sauce and stirred it around before remembering to take a pic. It looked better before I “improved” it.

While I was in the restaurant the air suddenly changed. It got cool and dry. Before I finished my soup it was raining. Finally. I ran home and didn’t go out for my laps or to buy desert fruits and nuts.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

