Baiyoke Sky Hotel, Bangkok

Baiyoke Sky Hotel
Baiyoke Sky Hotel

Billed as the tallest building in Thailand, the Baiyoke Sky Hotel is 84 or 85 floors tall. The girl at the tour desk at my guest house recommended it for the views.

I hoped on a tuk-tuk and was there is just a few minutes.

There was an admission charge of 200 baht (about $6.00 USD) to go to the top. This included a drink in the Sky Bar.

The observation floor was the 79th (I think). It was glass all the way around and the views were great. The Sky Bar was on the 83rd floor, and there was a revolving deck on the 84th floor that could be accessed by stairs.

The revolving deck was a metal platform that moved at a pretty good rate. I would think it would make a complete revolution is 15 minutes or so. It was very noisy with all sorts of rubbing, clanking, and creaking noises. The noise was somewhat disconcerting, but the construction was solid enough so I didn’t feel unsafe.

I climbed back down to the sky bar and cashed in my drink coupon. It was getting dark, so I stayed around to see the city

lights. To tell the truth, the lights weren’t all that impressive, so I left.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Thailand and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

