Living in China. July 1, 2010.

It was very hot and sunny again today, but the humidity must have been very low. I walked to several places and never broke a sweat.

Walked to the library and caught up on my English language periodical reading. Cut through an alley where they were building pool tables. First time I’ve seen that.

DSCN0496 DSCN0495 DSCN0494

Got into a heated debate with my Turkish friend about the quality of Chinese baking. He finds it soft, sweet, and a little doughy. He hates it. I find it exactly the same, but I like it. A sandwich on a bun of light Chinese bread doesn’t overwhelm the contents of the sandwich. I also like the way they incorporate meat and vegetables in their baking.

DSCN0491 DSCN0492 DSCN0493

Bought 5 tickets to see Carmen on July 9 at the Shenzhen Concert Hall. Don’t know who I’ll invite.

Stopped by the travel agency to see if they could get me a visa for Vietnam. They said yes. I think I’ll go there again soon.

Used the bathroom in a small cafe close to my building. They had this ad on the wall over the toilet. It’s for the Shenzhen Friendship Hospital. After seeing that ad I will stay as far away as I can from the Shenzhen Friendship Hospital.

DSCN0489

Got invited to watch soccer with some friends in CoCo Park tomorrow night.

Had hand pulled noodles and veggies for dinner. Had them delivered since the little restaurant doesn’t have air conditioning. You can have almost anything delivered here. Even $1.25 bowls of noodles. And there is no tipping in China.

 
About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

