Living in China. July 12, 2010.

Seems a little cooler this morning. About noon it rained a tiny bit. I was out and wearing my fake Crocs which have absolutely no traction on wet tiles, so I ducked into a cafe and had a small steamer of dumplings while I waited for the shower to pass. The pictures below are street views from inside the open front cafe.

DSCN0597 DSCN0598

The shower lasted about 10 minutes. By the time I ate my dumplings the streets were dry. I walked to my Chinese bank and withdrew a few Yuan, the explored a while. I ended the afternoon at the Futian library branch reading English language periodicals.

DSCN0599 DSCN0600 DSCN0601 DSCN0603

Restaurants, barber shops, stores, police, and most every business lines their employees up and gives them a pep talk before work begins. I have asked what they have to tell their employees every day, but no one seems to know. The picture below is in front of a small cafe at 16:30 when the dinner shift comes on duty.

DSCN0602

After the hottest part of the day passed, the streets became crowded again.

DSCN0604 DSCN0605

Bought some litchis and took them home. They are very sweet this year.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

