August 3, 2010. Traditional Vietnamese Fishing Village

August 3, 010. Traditional Fishing Village

Yesterday afternoon e took a tour to a traditional fishing village. They use these unusual round boats to get from the shore to the larger boats that are anchored in deeper water. I don’t know how, but the seem to make them work.
 
 
The tour involved a short walk through a stream.
 
Finally we saw the fishing village.
 
 
 
LATER
 
We had the best dinner I’ve had in a long time. It was at Russian place that had a giant outdoor charcoal grill out front and a huge table of fresh iced seafood beside it. You choose the seafood you wanted and the grilled it for you while you watched.  I had giant 6-8 inch prawns, tuna, a hard shell crab, and the best scallops I have ever eaten. I went back for seconds of everything except the tuna which had bones in it. It cost $18. each, very high by Vietnam standards, but a give-a-way in US prices.
 
In addition to everything else, the girls had squid and several kinds of whole fish, since they don’t seem to mind picking out bones from their food.
 
My only complaint was the manager came around to our table midway through our meal to collect the bill. My hands and face were covered in shrimp shells, feet, and faces. I asked him to come back, but he said no. Fortunately my money was in my shirt pocket, so I cleaned my thumb and fore finger, dug it out, and made sure I wiped my dirty fingers all over the money as I counted it and gave it to him. He didn’t seem to mind.
 
One drink came free with each meal. I ordered a second beer and paid again when it was served after purposely getting my fingers especially messy. Again, no problem.
 
About 21:00 a hard rain struck, but it was over quickly. We walked home.
About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

