Living in China. March 24, 2012

Hi All,

I keep 3 blogs on WordPress. One is more or less a picture and word diary. One is a travel diary, and the third is for my various rants and raves. I’ve been doing it for at least 5 years, including while I was in China. Now, for reasons unknown,

WordPress has been blocked by the government, so I can’t get to to my blogs. Two days ago I had a VPN that worked and I was able to add 1 day to my diary. Today that VPN doesn’t work. I don’t know if it’s me, or if it’s been discovered and blocked by the government. So I will have to rely on email until I get figure out a way to get to WordPress.

Wikipedia says WordPress was unblocked in April, but if it was, it’s been re-blocked now.

As most of you know, I’ve been staying with Sea and her son, Edison until I get a place for myself. Her daughter has an old phone she will give me the next time I see her. I’ll let you know the number when I get it.

Sea has learned to make yogurt. She calls it sour milk, but it is anything but sour. It’s quite sweet because she adds sugar to it. I taught her to add fruit to it. Yesterday she added a finely cut up peach. Today she added some sort of berry to it. It was great. The berry looks like a large black berry and it has a pit inside. I don’t know what it is called.

Yesterday we went to the store to buy some more milk for the yogurt. The milk is the kind that doesn’t need to be refrigerated. It was 33.50 at the store. That was too much, so today went to Vanguard. It’s a store that sells everything from groceries to clothes to eve glasses to drugs. She found the same milk for 33.19. She danced a jig because she was so happy to get the milk for less. It was a 12 block walk to save 0.39, about 6c. I thought I was frugal, but compared to Sea I’m a spendthrift. Anyway, it was good exercise for me. We had some chilled watermelon when we got back.

Last night we walked in a park that is about 2 blocks from the house. After walking about 45 minutes we started home and stopped at a barbecue place for a late night snack. I had a chicken leg, 3 giant oysters, and a half ear of corn. I wanted some mutton skewers, but they had changed the menu so there were no more pictures for me to point to. We sat outside. Even thought it was late, about 22:00, the place was packed with people. The waiter remembered me.

I wrote a piece for the Shenzhen Daily. It will be published Monday.

The pictures above are from our walk to Vanguard today. The bicycles are for KFC delivery. You can get anything you want delivered to your house at no extra charge. And there is no tipping in China. If you click on the pictures they should get bigger.

Please let me know if you get this.

The Charles

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

