Living in China. July 3, 2012. Baby Pics

That night Sea’s son slept at her daughter’s house with the daughter and baby. So apparently the husband and his mother are both gone. This morning the daughter, Vivian, brought the baby here while she went to work. I don’t know how long this arrangement will go on.

LATER

Vivian came by. We sent out for hand pulled noodles for dinner. Then Vivian and her brother took the baby to her house for the night. I found out the mother-in-law and Vivian had a huge fight and the mother-in-law left mad. I’m not sure what the fight was about. I guess the husband left about the same time. I also found out that Vivian and Martin, the husband, have been talking, so I guess they’ll get back together eventually.

July 4, MORNING

Happy Independence Day!

Before I left Flat Rock I intended to get a new set of blades for my electric razor since it wasn’t cutting very well, and the instructions recommend changing blades every 2 years. It’s been much longer than that. I put it off and didn’t get to Wal-Mart before I left. So I went to Wal-Mart here a few days ago, but they don’t sell enough Norelco electric razors to stock replacement blades. The clerk gave me a card for a Phillips/Norelco dealer that was somewhere in town. Of course everything was in Chinese on the card, so when I get home Sea called and sure enough they had the blades.

Yesterday Sea and Vivian and the baby went shopping. They took my razor with them and went to the Phillips store. The clerk showed them that what was wrong with my razor was not the blades, but that I hadn’t been cleaning it properly. I usually wash it under water and brush it with the brush that came with it. It turned out that wasn’t good enough. To clean it properly you have to remove the blades and clean the collars that hold them in. Hair gets trapped between the collars and the blades, pushing them away from the cutting surfaces. That’s what was wrong with my razor. The clerk cleaned it properly and its working like new. Sea still bought 3 blades since that’s all they had in stock, just in case I really need them some day.

Vivian and the baby are going to spend the day here again. I still don’t know exactly  what’s going on. I found out the Sea’s 2 kids plus Martin, the son-in-law, own a place in Hong Kong where the produce mice, as in computer mice. I know nothing else about it. They all have different jobs. Martin is a mouse salesman, Edison is some sort of engineer, and Vivian does something with customers, maybe sales. They all work for different companies and seem to be doing well. The Hong Kong thing is something else, and I don’t have a clue as to how it’s doing or what they will do in case of divorce.

Pears and peaches are in season here. I asked Sea to buy some for my morning yogurt. She said she would this afternoon. I am forbidden to buy things on my own since I always manage to get screwed.


The pics above are of the baby.

It’s been raining this morning, but it just stopped. I’m going to run to the news stand.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

