Living in China. June 28-29, 2012. Quiet Days

Just finished this week’s editorial. There was a racial incident in Guangzhou where a Nigerian man who was here illegally died while in police custody. Apparently there is a fairly large African community in Guangzhou, and they turned out to demonstrate in front of the police station. The title of my piece is “Only Africans Can End Anti-African Discrimination.” My guess it has a 0-1% chance of being published, but who knows?

It’s very hot today. It’s supposed to get up to 35. I don’t know that that means, except it’s VERY hot. I used to have a thermometer that converted Fahrenheit to Celsius, but it died on me. If I make it to Wal-Mart I’ll try to find a replacement.

JUNE 29.

Another hot and sunny day. It’s supposed to get up to 35 again. I read in the paper that the hot weather is being caused by another typhoon coming our way. It’s supposed to hit somewhere close to Shenzhen, but it was too far away for an exact target to be predicted. No matter. We’ll get rain and cooler weather soon.

A few nights ago a few of us got together. There is a guy named Mike. He’s 64 and English. He likes to dress as a woman. I know there’s a name for that, but I’m drawing a blank. Anyway, when he’s dressed as a woman he calls himself Meimei. The pictures above are of Sea, Meimei, and I. I don’t think he’s a queer, but who knows?

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

