Living in China. July 6, 2012.

It looks like it’s going to be hot and sunny today. Vivian’s coming by with the baby. The two of them plus Sea will be going out to shop for baby stuff. So I’ll be on my own for a while.

I usually take a 2-3 hour walk in the afternoon where I buy the papers and read them in the park or in a cafe if the weather’s bad. They don’t really have cafes here where you can just get a coffee or a glass of wine. They have small restaurants that I call cafes, but I usually feel obligated to order a little food. Fortunately they usually have small veggie dishes that are not very expensive, so that’s what I get. Yesterday I had green beans with hot peppers. Very good.

I noticed Sea isn’t using her old water cooler/heater with the 3-5 gallon jug on top. Instead she has a thing that looks like an old style coffee pot where she boils tap water then pours it into a room temperature jug for herself and her son, and a jug she keeps in the refrigerator for me. There was an article in the paper yesterday that talked about the price of water being 50% higher than last year. The article said tap water is safe to drink, but apparently Sea doesn’t trust it. Maybe it’s just habit not to trust tap water. Anyway I always buy a bottle of water when I go out, so I have to drink little tap water, even after it is boiled. Anyway, Sea is the most frugal person I’ve ever known, so her water habits fit the template.

I’m amazed at the coverage the death of Andy Griffith got here. He got a half page in the Shenzhen Daily and a full page in the Global Times. They must show his reruns on TV here, though I’ve never seen one.

I asked the girls to see if they could find me a map in English that had all the Chinese provinces and major cities in English. When I read about this or that in the newspapers I seldom know where something is happening. They said they’d try, but sounded kind of doubtful. They are going to CoCo Park for the baby stuff, so if there is such a thing, they might find it there.

If I understand things correctly, Vivian’s father, Sea’s ex-husband, is coming to stay with her on August 2. He lives far away, so I guess this fight is more serious than I thought.

Below are a few random pictures.

SATURDAY MORNING

It’s 6:00AM and I’m the only one up, as usual. Edison spent the night here, and he doesn’t work today. He is capable of sleeping til noon if uninterrupted.

We went to Kingway barbecue last night and had dinner with a few friends, including the cross-dresser who came as Mike, not Meimei. There are two major beer brands in China  Tsingtao and Kingway. I didn’t realize it until last night, but it’s the Kingway beer company that owns the barbecue place. It’s a neat place. It’s open air and right in the center of town. It’s about 15-20 feet below the sidewalk so you can see people walking by on all sides and they can see you. The barbecue is better than the barbecue at the place I like so much a few blocks from here.

I didn’t get my peaches or pears yesterday. Vivian brought 6 of these odd looking fruits, so I ate those with my yogurt. I’ve heard them called several things, but I think Sea called them v.c. yesterday. They’re not bad, but don’t have a distinct flavor. They’re full of tiny black seeds which you eat. They add a little body to the flesh. I have a picture of one, but since it’s the only picture in my camera now, I’m too lazy to load it. I will show it after I get a few more pics.

It looks like it will be hot and sunny today.

Below are a few more random pics from a Chinese bakery. Note how they incorporate meats and vegetables into their baking. My new Cannon camera doesn’t take as good pictures as the old Coolpix that I broke, even though on paper it is better in every way.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

