Living in China. July 18-19, 2012. Trip Plans.

 

JULY 18. This morning I was awakened at 05:30 by a giant thunder clap. We were having a bad storm. I knew I wouldn’t go back to sleep so I got up and turned on the computer to do emails. Sea was awakened too, and got up to turn the a.c. off, then she went back to bed.

I live on the 8th floor of a 15 story building. Right out my window is a shorter building, maybe 6 floors. I can see the roof of the other building from my window. When I got here someone was growing a small rooftop garden in pots. About a week ago I looked out my window and the garden was gone. The rooftop was cluttered with what appears to the the contents of an apartment. There are mattresses, chairs, a desk, other furniture, and numerous small things. Apparently it was an eviction or maybe someone just abandoned the stuff. Why it ended up on the roof I have no idea. There are people all over the streets who buy this kind of thing. Or the landlord could have put it on the sidewalk and everything would have been gone in half an hour.

Now its been rained on, so things like pillows are ruined, and the wood has warped. It’s been more than a week now, and no one has touched the stuff. I’d complain if I knew who to complain to.

This morning Sea bought a pig’s liver at the market. She knows I like it. It tastes similar to calf’s liver or chicken liver, but is slightly milder. She used to stir fry it with hot peppers, sweet peppers, ginger, and onions. The last few times she has made it, she’s put it in a veggie soup. The stir fry is my favorite, but without a doubt the soup is healthier. Anyway she showed me the liver and explained how a little every once in a while it is good, but too much is bad. It effects the blood somehow. She’s making something for the baby with a little bit of the liver, an the rest will be for my dinner. Apparently she and her kids aren’t that fond of it. She bought a goose neck for herself and her kids. It’s considered a great delicacy. She makes it into a soup too.

In my last email I told you Sea was going to have her Haiku changed. I told you my story was probably 75% incorrect. Well I was right, and I’ve found my first mistake. I had Haiku confused with hukou. Haiku is a form of Japanese poetry. Hukou has something to do with where a Chinese officially calls home.

We started working on the Xinjiang trip last night, but it was late, and I was sleepy, so I called things off and went to bed. I woke up at 05:00 this morning, so I’m going to try to stay up late tonight so I can sleep later tomorrow.

Three Generations of Zhengs

JULY 19. It looks like another hot and sunny day. The baby will be here soon. Vivian has been working a few hours each day then staying for dinner. I assume that’s the schedule for today too. Sea just went to the market, and isn’t back yet.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

