Living in China. August 12, 2012. Packing for Xinjiang

Tomorrow we’re going to Xinjiang. The plane leaves at 8:00, so we’re getting up at 5:00. Sea has a car lined up to takes to the airport at 5:15. I’m kind of excited since this is a part of China that is very different from Shenzhen.

It’s been very hot here. 3 typhoons have hit the mainland in about a week. They all hit north of here, so we got the hot weather in front of them, but no cool wind or rain.

We have eaten out or ordered in nearly every meal for the past week. It’s just too hot to cook. In case I haven’t described it before, Sea’s kitchen is about the size of mom’s pantry and has a single gas burner. Because Chinese stir fry nearly everything in oil, they keep their kitchens closed off from the rest of the house so the oil doesn’t get in the air and settle on every surface. Sea’s kitchen is off the balcony, so it doesn’t even get the benefits from the air conditioning, not that it would help much once the burner is lit and the door closed.

Martin and Vivian’s house is brand new and very nice. Their kitchen has two burners and is in the main part of the house, but is completely enclosed in glass because of the oil.

I haven’t been exploring on my afternoon walks like I used to because, as I’ve noted  before, China is not handicap friendly. But Thursday I went off my usual beaten path and discovered a place that had a giant clay jar out front that they use to cook lotus root soup. Lotus root soup is one of my favorite Chinese foods. I was glad to find it because the two places that used to sell it have both closed. It was too hot that day for soup, but once it cools off a little I will definitely stop there.

Two of the hottest days had heavy mist or pollution in the air. The paper said it was ozone. Sea noticed my eyes were red and made a special tea from chrysanthemum flowers  and a few other things. It worked and my eyes cleared up soon as the air cleared.

I will probably be out of touch for the next 3-4 days, so don’t worry if you email me and don’t get an immediate reply. I’ll have plenty of pictures when I return.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

