Living in China. September 6, 2012.

It’s been very quiet since we returned from Xinjiang Province. Friday night we got together with a few friends at an outdoor barbecue place. Saturday I played chess. Monday I began looking for a new apartment. Sea went with me since I don’t speak Mandarin.

First we went to an agency, but they had nothing under 4200 Yuan (about $660.) per month. Then we went home and Sea got on the computer to look. She found a place for 3500. Yuan.  We went to look at it. It was on the 14th floor of a 32 floor building. It was fairly new, I’d guess about 10 years old. It was very nice, but in typical Chinese fashion, wasn’t well maintained.  It was about a 30 minute walk from the old place. Coincidentally, it was next door to the Jing Ming Da Hotel where I stayed the first time I visited China. It was about twice as large as Sea’s place.

It has hard wood floors, a large (by Chinese standards) kitchen, a nice bathroom, a laundry room, enclosed balcony, 24/7 guarded gate, etc. There were 4 other people looking at it at the same time. The owner wanted 2 months rent as security deposit, plus 1 month rent. I was the only one who had 10,500 Yuan in my pocket, so I got the place. Sea rook care of the paperwork for me. I asked her if she and her son would like to stay with me. Considering that we did very well in a much smaller space, I knew they’d accept. And they did.

The next day we moved. It was amazing how quickly Sea packed her stuff, hired a truck, and arranged to sell the stuff she didn’t want to move. By 15:00. we were in the new place. Vivian came by and she along with her mother wiped down every surface in the place, then Sea began unpacking. By the end of the day everything was in order.

The next day Sea took care of the paperwork I needed to file with the police. I didn’t have to accompany her.

The only thing I don’t like about this place is the neighborhood. It is quiet and sterile. There are few stores, few people on the streets. The two days sine I’m here, I’ve walked back to my old neighborhood for my afternoon constitutional. There is a woman who runs a new stand who save a Shenzhen Daily and Global Times for me every day. I appreciate that, so I make the 30 minute trek to her place. It’s good exercise.

Tomorrow (7th) Sea is going to the Fairy Lake Temple. It’s a large Buddhist temple and park on the edge of town. I’ve been there with her 2 or 3 times. There are lots of steps, so I’m not going this time. She’s going to give thanks for our safe tip to Xinjiang Province.

The pics above are inside views of the new place and views from the windows. The Peking University Hospital Shenzhen is almost across the street in one direction, Lotus Mountain Park is across the street in another direction.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

