Living in China. September 28, 2012. This ‘n That

SEPTEMBER 23.

A storm was coming. There was a lot of thunder and the sky was dark in the morning. I went out earlier than usual in hopes of beating the rain, but I was unsuccessful. I carried an umbrella, so it wasn’t a big problem. I bought my newspaper and headed to a cafe to read them instead of going to the park. I like to finish my walks with a cold beer in a cafe before going home. I usually go about 14:00, after the lunch crowd has gone. Today I stopped right at lunch time and the place was crowded and noisy. I had my iPod in one ear, and could barely hear the music over the din. I felt a little bad about tying up a table at such a busy time, so I ordered a bowl of fried rice, a beer, and spread my newspapers out to read them. By 13:00 the place had cleared out, and since it was still raining I kept reading.

Got an email from my friend June. She told me they couldn’t operate on her tumor because it hadn’t shrunk enough, so she returned to her home in Taiwan to see the doctors there. It doesn’t sound good, but she seemed be have a positive outlook and is in good spirits.

SEPTEMBER 24

Sea decided I need a haircut. I had one a few weeks ago, but I need another already. She likes my hair to be longer because it looks less white. Anyway, she went shopping earlier and it was so hot she decided to say in the rest of the day.

I haven’t been carrying my camera with me all the time like I used to. I guess I’m a little gun shy after breaking my old one. I decided to start carrying it again. Above are pics of my new building from the outside, and the omelet I had after my walk and the waitress, etc.

Sea made lotus root soup last night. It’s one of my favorite foods. She didn’t put red dates in it like I like, but it was still good.

SEPTEMBER 26

Another uneventful day. Vivian came by and gave me my silver chop sticks. As I  said before, they are supposed to turn black if the food is poison. I tested all the food at dinner to make sure it was OK to eat.

SEPTEMBER 28

The last few days have been relatively nice, weather wise. The temperature has been in the low 80s during the day and in the 70s at night. We’ve not turned on the air conditioner for a while.

The noise from the construction next door is quite loud with the windows open. There is a lot of pounding as the foundation is being laid. I hope the pounding will end soon. Otherwise the noise isn’t too bad.

It looks like the new building will have two sides directly on the sidewalk. Usually the ground floors are full of stores and cafes. Our buildings aren’t on the sidewalk, so there is only a small convenience store on the ground floor. If they fill the ground floor with businesses it will liven up the neighborhood a bit.

I’ve been carrying my camera again. Above are a few random pics, mostly from a cafe where I stopped. The first one is of my building. Will send some more of my new neighborhood next time. The last picture is of an egg and noodle ball soup. The balls tasted like a mixture of pine needles and Vicks Vapor Rub. The eggs had little pieces of prok, onions and garlic inside of them, sort of like a Chinese dumpling. The broth was the best part.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

