Living in China. October 3, 2012. Mid-Autumn Festival and My Birthday

SEPTEMBER 29.

The Mid-Autumn Festival starts tomorrow. It’s date is based on the lunar calendar so the dates vary from year to year. This year it ends on the beginning of the National Holiday, so there care 8 holiday days.

The weather remains pleasant.

SEPTEMBER 30

During the Mid Autumn Festival it is customary to give moon cakes as gifts. Moon cakes are very sweet. They have a pickled quail egg in the center, but instead of tasting briney like pickles, they are very sweet. Chinese eat very few sweets, so most moon cakes are given as symbolic gifts, much like fruit cake around Christmas. Since I like sweets, I welcome them. So far I’ve gotten two boxes of moon cakes. I hope to get more.

OCTOBER 2

Had two very nice birthday parties yesterday. One at lunch, the second at dinner. Got several nice gifts, and even more spoof gifts like a DVD titled “Lesbian Vampire Killers,.” some moon cakes, and a pair of glasses with non-matching lens.
At lunch Martin, Vivian, Sea, Edison, Eleven and I went to a Muslim restaurant. Sea is convinced all the mutton I ate in Xinjiang Province made me stronger, and she wanted to feed me more. I ate more than my share. My favorite were the mutton ribs.

We had a private dining room with a waiter and a waitress. Martin gave me a bottle of Moutai, the Chinese national drink. It is a clear liquor made from rice. The bottle he gave me was 500ml, a little larger than a pint. It cost more than $150.00. We had a couple of toasts.

I’m going to cut this short. The pictures below are from dinner that night.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

