Living in China. October 15-19, 2012. A Little Socializing

MONDAY, OCTOBER 15. The girls and I had dinner with my friend Robert last night. He is full Chinese but was born in New Zealand. He lives in the Louhou district which is very nice, very busy. I’ve never been there before. I kind of wish I had looked a little more for my new apartment. We went to a Muslim place and had lots of mutton and some other dishes. The first picture is of that night. Robert is the big Chinese guy with the mustache in the second picture.

Vivian dropped the baby off here this morning. She had to go to work. The baby is pulling herself up now.

About 12:30 I went out for my walk and my papers.

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 16. The air is very bad today. The TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) hospital is a large building 5-6 blocks away. I can barely see it. The weather said a cold front is coming through and it will help clear the air.

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 17. Another very bad air day. Otherwise it was same old, same old.

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 18. Got up about 05:00 and wrote two pieces or the Shenzhen Daily by noon. The paper didn’t publish last week because of the holiday, so I now have a total of 6 pieces in their hands. I know not all will be published, but I hope at least two will make it. I almost forgot, one was published Monday. I enjoy writing them even if they’re not published. It’s good exercise for the mind.

Sea got a phone call from the express mail company. Her new Shenzhen passport had arrived. She was very excited and ran out the door to get it.

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19. The cold front came through. I should say cool front. The air is pretty clear today. Vivian is bringing the baby over this morning. I don’t know if she’s staying or going to work.

The last three pics are of my old neighborhood and my new, quiet neighborhood.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

