Living in China. November 10, 2012. Election Loss

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2012. Had dinner with Robert last night. We went to the same outdoor Muslim place we went before. We had a lot of grilled lamb and various veggies. One thing we got was a plate of chilled lightly cooked green beans that were in a light vinegar dressing with sesame seeds. It was very refreshing. I put a few on my plate to cleanse my palate after the mutton.

I am following the election on my computer. Right now Romney is ahead but less than half the states have closed voting. I hope to know the final results when I return from my afternoon walk. I have a bad feeling it won’t be Gary Johnson. So far he has 0.3% of the vote.

By the time I showered, etc. I knew Obama had won. While I was out on my daily walk I got 4 text messages taunting me about the win.

There are reports of more things being blocked from the internet. Supposedly because of the party congress starting in Beijing.

Vivian, Edison, Eleven, Sea and I ate a big dinner Sea made for us. The kids would much rather eat at home than go out. Like most everyone, they think their mother is the best cook in the world. I like to go out,  just to get out for a while.

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 8. The pounding started about 08:00 this morning. When I look at the construction site I can’t see what they are trying to break up.

When I went out this afternoon there were several cement trucks around the building. Hopefully they are ready to start pouring the foundation and the pounding will stop.

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 9.
The muse was with me this morning and I pounded out an 850 word piece that I sent to Shenzhen Daily. They have at least eight of my pieces they haven’t published. I suspect most won’t be. A few nights ago I saw Keven, my editor. He’s been working as copy editor for The Nanfang. He said I should try there. Unfortunately they are a recent start up and don’t paying anything. But even worse, they don’t publish author’s names. Forget them.
When I was browsing the news this morning I came across a story that said celery was so hard to digest that your body burned more calories than it takes in when eating it. There’s a cafe close to the park that sells a dish of sauteed celery that isn’t bad, so I stopped in after my walk and ordered it. The first picture above is of the calorie fighting celery.

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 10.
Warm and sunny today. The pounding at the next door construction site began at 08:00. Vivian and the baby came over for the day about 09:30. They stayed through dinner.

Got an invite to a friend’s birthday party on December 8. Vivian, as usual, asked if she could tag along, as she always does, but the invite said NO EXTRAS in capital letters, so I told her no. I asked my friend if I could bring her. He’s out of the country, so I hven’t heard back yet.
When I went on my afternoon walk I got a little sweaty for the first time in several days. I stopped by the same cafe as yesterday to have the celery dish again, but ended up having a plate of noodles for under $3.00 USD. That’s pic number two two. I only ate about a third of the noodles.
While on my walk I found another cafe with a giant clay jar out front. The jars are used to cook lotus root soup. It was too hot to have soup today, but I’ll remember it for the next time it’s cool. Picture three and four.

When I returned I turned on the a/c for the first time in a few weeks. It’s supposed to cool off again tonight.
A few nights ago when we went out for dinner we passed the restaurant in picture five. There were 12-15 people waiting for tables outside. This is unusual behavior for Chinese. They don’t like to wait in lines, and there are several restaurants and cafes in the area that weren’t full. So I assume the food must be very good. I told Sea we’d go there the next time we went out. Picture five is the front of the restaurant.
Picture six is of the little cafe where we went that night. Very inexpensive and very good.

Picture seven is of a random street scene.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

