Living in China. November 22, 2012. Korean Restaurant

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 20. Had a piece published in the Shenzhen Daily. They haven’t had an Opinion page in two weeks because so much space was used to cover the Communist Party Congress. It’s over now, so things are back to normal.

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 21.
It’s been raining off and on all day. The weather is pleasantly cool. I broke out my long pants.

We went to a Korean restaurant last night for the first time. Korean food is my least favorite Asian cuisine, but it was OK. They brought us 6 small appetizers when we sat down. Sea has a kimchi noodle soup, Edison had a rice and squid dish served in a stone pot. I had a similar dish, but not squid. The dish was served with a fried egg on top. The waitress stirred the egg into the dish before serving it. I’m not sure what kind of meat, if any, I had. I also had a single eel sushi served in a seaweed cone. It was my favorite part of the meal. We shared a beer. The bill came to 141 Yuan, about $22. USD. All of the pics are of our dinner.

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 22. Woke up at 03:30, misread the clock  and got up thinking it was 04:30. I had started making coffee before I realized my error, so I stayed up. It’s now 04:15. I’ve been getting up earlier and earlier, but this is ridiculous. Edison goes to work about 08:00, and Sea sleeps til 09:00 or later. I enjoy a few hours of morning quiet to read, write, play chess, email, etc. but this is ridiculous. I’ll probably try to go back to bed for an hour or two before dawn.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

