Living in China. November 24, 2012. Walk to Photographer.

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 22. Continued. When dawn broke it was very foggy. By noon the fog had cleared and it was sunny and pleasant. The air was as clear as I’ve seen it in weeks. The first picture is of the view from my window that I have pictured several times before. Note the mountains. I wore shorts again.

The small tangerines I like must be back in season. All of a sudden there are sidewalk vendors all over selling them, oranges, other fruit. I bought a large bag for about $1.50 USD, took them home and ruined my dinner eating them.
I grew a rather large bruise from my fall in Hong Kong. I fell on the outside of my shoulder, but the bruise is on the underside of my arm. I can’t explain it. This evening Sea rubbed Wood Lock, a camphor/menthol/turpentine balm, on it.
We didn’t do anything for Thanksgiving. Some of the bigger hotels and restaurants that cater to westerners have a dinner or a buffet, but I wasn’t in the mood. Thanksgiving is a family affair, otherwise it’s just eating turkey.

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 23, 2102. Woke up at 03:30 again and couldn’t get back to sleep. Got up at 04:00. The weather seemed a bit cooler than yesterday. About 07:00 a strong storm rumbled in. Probably won’t go out today unless it clears up later. Took the same picture as yesterday. It is the second.

For some reason my Hotmail had changed to Microsoft Outlook this morning. I hope it won’t require a learning curve.

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 24.
Went to bed about 08:30 last night, got up for a couple of hours at 13:00, then back to bed. Woke up at 05:30 this morning and made coffee. It’s cool again. I can’t see the weather yet. I think the paper said it would be cool for several days.

Accompanied Sea to the photographer this afternoon. She needed passpport size pictures of herself and her sponsor (me) for her visa application. We went to a place close to the old building. As soon as my picture was taken, I headed out to the park. She stayed and got the pics developed before returning home. Later I remembered I should have taken Sea to the old noodle place, which was less than a block away, to ask the new owners if it had relocated anywhere near.
The fourth picture is of a family feud we passed on our way to the photographer. A crowd had formed around a man and woman yelling at each other on the sidewalk. There was a cop standing by, but he didn’t interfere. We watched about 5 minutes, then went on our way.

We passed through what I call mahhjong alley. There are at least a donzen small mahjong parlors with 6-8 tables in each. When the shops get full tables are set up outside. The 5th picture is of one of the outdoor tables.

The sixth is a picture of an old man playing a homemade instrument. I dropped 1 Yuan into his cup and took is picture.The seventh is of the fruit Sea always keeps on the table.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living in China. November 24, 2012. Walk to Photographer.

Leave a Reply

