Living in China. November 27, 2012. Crappy Weather.

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 26. Cool and rainy. The paper said the high today will be 20. Tomorrow’s high will be 19, then it will begin to warm up a bit. Wednesday-s high will be 22. I’m not sure what these numbers mean, but it feels like it’s in the low 60s or high 50s.
Went out for my walk and the papers about 13:00. It was drizzling, so I decided to cut my walk short and take shelter in a cafe for my first pot of lotus root soup of the season. About 13:45 I sat down. The soup was OK, but not as good as in the old place where it was made with twigs, roots, straw, and floor sweepings. This soup was sterile. I also ordered my first bottle of black beer. It didn’t disappoint, and after my first sip I was warm. After my second sip sweat beads broke out on my forehead. I was content.

I spent about an hour in the cafe during which time the rain and wind increased. By the time I got home I was soaked. The umbrella did little to keep me dry because of the wind. I put on my snow suit pajamas and sat down at my desk. The next thing I knew I awoke and there was a blanket wrapped around me. Sea had put it on during my unplanned nap.
I stayed in the rest of the day. Sea made dumplings for dinner.

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 27.
Got up at 04:15. The weather was like yesterday, cool and rainy. I went out about 13:00. I’ve noticed my walking is much more cautious than before I fell in Hong Kong. It was drizzling, but not enough to open my umbrella.

I stuck to a route that kept me on concrete or brick sidewalks. I avoided tile sidewalks. Not much happened. I spent more time reading in a cafe than actually walking. I got a few pics, so I’ll send this now.

The first pic is of lotus root soup served in a clay pot. The second is of my bottle of black beer. It was a little larger than an ounce.
The fourth is of the owner of the cafe. She strapped her baby to her back using a long scarf-like cloth that I’d never seen before.

The fourth and fifth are of Sea’s dumplings.

The sixth is the Wednesday morning view from my window.

The seventh is of a kid and a baby in one of the cafes.

The eighth is of a sweet potato dish the waitress shared with me on Wednesday. No charge.

 

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Expat News, Living in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

