July 24, 2009. Penang Hill.

View
View

The morning started out early. At 06:00 I was awakened to the Muslim call to prayers being blared from a mosque somewhere. It was still dark. I had opened my bathroom window to air it out and it allowed the call to prayer to come in. I noticed an arrow on the ceiling of my room pointing the way to Mecca. Malaysia is a Muslim country, after all.

Today we went up Penang Hill. It is a small mountain close to the center of the island. I think it is about 2200 feet high. We took a funicular up. It was quite an experience. About half way up we had to change cars for the rest of the trip. The entire ride took about 30 minutes.

At the top the views of the island and the ocean were spectacular.

There were a few food and souvenir vendors at the top. Sea and Vivian ran around taking pictures of each other. I have never known two people who like being photographed more than them. I don’t think they even looked at the pictures. They posed, flashed, then on to the next pose. In no case was an historic monument,

great view, or impressive structure more important than them in the foreground.

After walking around a while we shared an A.B.C. I had seen these in Kuala Lumpur and thought they were made of ice cream and flavorings. In fact it was mostly shaved ice with one scoop of ice cream on top. It also had corn, kidney beans, candy, and several kinds of flavored toppings. It was 3.50 ringgit (about $1.00 USD).

After the A.B.C. we went to a temple at the top of the hill. The girls prayed. I took some pics. Close to the temple was a mosque. We walked around it, but didn’t go inside.

By this time it was 16:00 so we headed back to the funicular for the ride back down. It was after 18:00 by the time we got back to the hotel. I wished we had air conditioning then.

After a shower and some clean clothes I went out to New World Park for dinner. I had passed by a place called Mizi’s Bistro the previous night and noticed a giant, fresh, green salad being served. I assumed it was Mizi’s Special House Salad, so I ordered it.

It turned out Mizi’s Special was a chicken and carrot salad. The green lettuce, I found out after asking the waiter, was Mizi’s Organic Salad. My chicken salad was good, but not exactly what I had wanted. Of course I have only myself to blame for assuming I knew things without asking.

After dinner I walked around an hour or so, but didn’t find anything interesting to do, so I called it an early evening and went home.

Mosque
Mosque

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment