Daily Archives: December 20, 2009

July 1, 2009. Hottest Day Yet.

Yesterday (July 1, I sometimes get lost in my stories as the day and times change) my thermometer registered 91 on my balcony in the morning at 08:00. I don’t know how high the temperature got, but it was very, … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged | Leave a comment

July 2, 2009. Malaysia Here We Come.

Shenzhen Building Yesterday Sea found our her accounting re-certification examination has been postponed for 8 months. No explanation was given, and not date certain was set. God, I love bureaucracy. So we made a spur of the moment decision to … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 3, 2009. New Shoes, New Hair.

New Hair Today I stopped at a shoe store and bought a new pair of “Crocs.” I intended to find out what real Crocs cost so I could get some idea of what I should pay for them, but like … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 4, 2009. Chess at La Casa.

Blitz Game There are a couple of people in the chess club that come from out of town to play. One is from Hong Kong and the other is from somewhere on the mainland. It is better for them to … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | 1 Comment

July 5, 2009. A Long Walk to Starbucks.

From Starbucks Front Door Since it was cool, and since I woke up early, I decided to walk to a coffee shop I had discovered recently. About 07:00 I set out. It had rained all night and everything was wet. … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 7, 2009. More Censorship.

Flowers I noted a few weeks ago that I signed up for Twitter, Facebook, and a couple of other “social networking” services. For a number of reasons I don’t really care for them, and hardly ever use them. But I … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 8, 2009. More Censorship, Nice Park.

Lotus Bloom Twitter and Facebook are still blocked. I mentioned this to a friend and we went on a walk together. This person is very paranoid. I can not even say if it is a man or a woman or … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

July 9, 2009. Internet Blocked, Everyone Happy.

Shenzhen Airport I guess you must behave yourself inside. No uncivilized behavior allowed. There was no Twitter nor Facebook tonight. Not one person mentioned it today. I kept my mouth shut. The TV news seemed to be all about the … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

July 10, 2009. Oysters and Heat

Great Oysters LAST NIGHT, JULY 9. I didn’t go to the park last night because of the heat. I went to the noodle shop for a bowl of flat noodle soup with veggies. I haven’t had any soup recently because … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 11. Chess and Funny Signs.

Funny Sign July 10. Evening. I got home about 18:30. The thermometer on my balcony said 94. It must have been close to 100 earlier. I ate noodles, did my laps in the park, then came home and practiced chess. … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , | 1 Comment