July 4, 2009. Chess at La Casa.

Blitz Game
Blitz Game

There are a couple of people in the chess club that come from out of town to play. One is from Hong Kong and the other is from somewhere on the mainland. It is better for them to play on weekends when there is more time to travel. To accommodate them we played yesterday afternoon.

The meeting was scheduled to start at 16:00 and end at ??? About 7 or 8 people showed up. I got there a few minutes past 16:00. There were only a couple of people there. I had a chicken sandwich while we waited. Slowly people drifted in, and the games began.

I did very badly, not winning a single match. I feel like I was out played sometimes, but continue to make dumb moves that basically give away games. I don’t remember making a lot of dumb moves in my college days. I must get serious about this.

To be fair to me, there some excellent players in the group. Eduardo, from Brazil, was one of the top 10 players in his country when he was younger. Umberto is rated in the 1700s, which I am sure is in the top 1% of all players. 

About 22:00 a few of us went to CoCo Park for a snack. It started raining about that time, but we were lucky enough to have taken a seat under an umbrella. I had some barbecued sausage on a stick. Very good.

I noticed a Crocs store inside, so I took a look. The least expensive pair they had was 299 yuan (about $44.00 USD), and the most expensive was 699 yuan (over $100. USD). So, as I suspected (knew), my $10. Crocs are probably fake. I wore them last night and didn’t slip in the rain, so that is an improvement.

I got home about 23:30, and went right to be. Chess wears me out.

I woke up at 05:30 this morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. It’s now 06:30. The weather is nice outside. I discovered a coffee shop a few blocks away. I think I’ll go there and have a cup this morning.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Living in China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 4, 2009. Chess at La Casa.

  1. Pingback: Trackback

Leave a Reply

