Daily Archives: December 14, 2009

July 23, 2009. Last Day in Kuala Lumpur. Trip to Penang.

  K.L. Airport The morning of the 23rd I got up at 07:00 and headed out for coffee. I returned about 08:30 and the girls came knocking about 09:00. We went out for breakfast. We had noodle soup at a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

July 22, 2009. Kuala Lumpur City Tour

Royal Palace We did the city tour today. It began at 09:30 at a hotel a couple of blocks from ours. I left before the girls so I could have coffee at a cafe on the way. First we went … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

July 24, 2009. Penang Hill.

View The morning started out early. At 06:00 I was awakened to the Muslim call to prayers being blared from a mosque somewhere. It was still dark. I had opened my bathroom window to air it out and it allowed … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

July 25, 2009. Historic Georgetown.

Chinese Temple Yesterday the three of us took a self guided walking tour of the historic district of Georgetown. Georgetown is the oldest part of Penang and is where the British lived and ruled when Malaysia was part of the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

July 26, 2009. Antique Bicycles, Another Chinese Temple. Fish Feet.

Ceramic Vase The girls wanted to sleep in today, being worn out from the heat and the walking yesterday. I went out for coffee about 07:00 but couldn’t find any that early. I settled for instant Malaysian milk tea from … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

July 27, 2009. Last Morning in Penang. Flight to Bangkok.

Komtower This morning was our last in Penang. I had planned on going to the Botanical Gardens, then to the airport. Last night the girls were OK with my plan. This morning, however, they didn’t want to go to the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

July 27-28 Penang to Bangkok to Pattaya

Pattaya Taxi We arrived at the Bangkok airport late at night. We were lucky to get the last bus to Pattaya. The bus cost 113 baht each (about $3.50 USD). If we had missed it we would have been forced … Continue reading

Posted in Thailand | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

July 29, 2009. Another Day in Pattaya.

Much the same as yesterday. I went walking in the morning, the girls went shopping. I sat on the beach and read in the afternoon. I rented a chair and an umbrella on the beach and watched the parasailing. Then … Continue reading

Posted in Thailand | Tagged | 1 Comment