Living in China. December 4, 2012. Cold and Rainy.

026

027

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 30. Bad weather seems to have set in. It was rainy all day, and the weather was cool, though not completely unpleasant. I didn’t go out during the day, but we got together with a few friends for dinner. It took exactly an hour to catch a taxi, possibly because of the weather. Typically it takes 5-10 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

023

SATURDAY-MONDAY, DECEMBER 1-3. The bad weather seems unending. I stayed in all three days. Have a bad case of cabin fever, plus I miss the exercise.

The paper said Beijing got its largest snowfall in 50 years. I guess that front has hit us here now. It’s supposed to start warming on Wednesday or Thursday.

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 4. Yet another cool and rainy day. The high was supposed to be 16. I decided to take a walk anyway. I over dressed and was sweating after two blocks. Nevertheless I decided a pot of hot lotus root soup would be good and headed to a cafe where it was served. It was a 45 minute walk in light rain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After buying my papers I arrived at the cafe, and guess what? They were out of lotus root soup. Still, I spread out my papers and ordered something unmemorable. I can read my papers on line for free, but having them laid out on a table in front of me is much more satisfying than scanning them from a computer screen.

Today is Edison’s birthday. We planned to go out, but at dinner time it was raining so hard we ordered in. Sea got 8 dishes for 82 yuan (about $12.00 USD) no tip. I volunteered to bring a cake home, but Edison doesn’t like sweets, so no cake.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first four pics are from the Friday night dinner party. I look unusually large because I’m wearing three shirts at the party.

The rest are random street scenes from my walk today.

About Charles Kirtley

Have been living in SE Asia and China since 2007. I have an opinion on most every subject, and don't mind sharing them. Lover and collector of worthless facts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living in China. December 4, 2012. Cold and Rainy.

  1. Enjoy the rain, it usually means the air is cleaner and safer to breathe.

Leave a Reply

