Daily Archives: September 22, 2012

Living in China. June 25, 2012

We finally I have a hot and sunny day. Now I can complain about the heat. Plus everyone seems to be well today for the first time in a while. The first picture above is of me yesterday. I have … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Living in China. June 23, 2012. A Close Call

Today, for some reason the supervisor/landlord was called to our apartment. I didn’t know why, but he and his assistant were looking out of my office window. I didn’t know what was up, so I grabbed a Global Times and … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Living in China. June 23, 2012. Rainbow

This is a picture of Futain district of Shenzhen, where I live, from atop Lotus Mountain, a public park. I didn’t take it, but it’s so good I thought I better show it before I screw something up.

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Living in China. June 22, 2012. Dragon Boat Day

Today is Dragon Boat day. I forgot  the exact story, but a dragon attacked a boat crossing the Yangtze River. I think the emperor might have been in the boat. To distract the dragon, the sailors threw rice cakes over … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged | Leave a comment

Living in China. June 20, 2012. Typhoon Day

A typhoon moved in last night. It hit slightly south of Shenzhen, but we’re supposed to be in for 1.5-2 days of bad weather. I’m glad I was able to get out a couple of days before today. They continue … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Living in China. June 17, 2012

The sun is out and there’s not a rain cloud in the sky. It’s 06:15, but I’ve got cabin fever and am anxious to hit the park before bit gets too hot, as I know it will. Here are a … Continue reading

Posted in Living in China | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment